2017-02-15 / Front Page

12 file for May city and school races


The deadline to run in the May 6 election for city or school seats ends Friday.

So far, two have filed for places on the Raymondvile City Commission, four for trustees on the local school district, four for the Lyford school district and two for Lyford City Council.

City commissioners Zeke Cavazos and Clifton Smith are seeking reelection.

For the school district, Jessica Cantu, the incumbent, and Johnny Falcon have filed for Place 1.

In Places 2, 6 and 7, John L. Solis, Aron Garcia and Javier Longoria, another incumbent, have filed, respectively.

In Lyford, Mayor Pro tem Antonio “ Tony” Chavez and Pablo Morales have made their intentions known to seek reelection.

And for the Lyford school district, incumbents Arturo Cortez, Alison Bussey- Savage and Joey Mendoz have also filed to seek reelection.

Larry Mendez has also filed for the seat now held by Cruz Salinas.

The deadline to file for office expires at 5 p.m. this coming Friday.

Return to top

Click here for digital edition
2017-02-15 digital edition